General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Blinking security light

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 01:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Blinking security light

I have a 2000 pontiac trans am ws6. One night I tried to start it and it wouldn't start. The security light blinked on the dash cluster. I had my tuner/mechanic take a look at it. He said the BCM went bad after several checks.
They installed a new BCM except the security light still blinks. By the way this was a couple of years ago. I asked him why the light still blinked and he said that the system had a clitch.
I went to the dealer and they said it might take sometime to find it. I have been driving the car for a couple of years with the light still blinking. Starts fine but once in a while it will not start.I remove the battery cable and it's ok for a while. I have read many posts about this problem.

My question is can I reset this somehow so I can get the security light on the instrument cluster to stop flashing. I figured that it was time to fix the problem once and for all.

Last edited by transwiz; 04-03-2013 at 01:28 PM.
Old 04-02-2013, 03:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I read a post on here one time and can't find it again. Something about when your car won't start try this. Turn the key like your trying to start the car.Then turn the key back to the on position.Let it sit for ten minutes until the security light stops flashing then try to start it. Can't remember the exact reason for doing this.

Any help you can give me will be appreciated.
Old 04-03-2013, 01:29 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Somebody must know this.
Old 04-03-2013, 05:19 PM
On The Tree

Try a vats bypass, but it will only work if vats is activating and actually causing said problem.

To my knowledge, vats symptoms are no start, no crank, and security light stays lit when turning key to on or trying to start car.