General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

power steering rack leaking what are my options ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2015, 02:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default power steering rack leaking what are my options ?

Should I convert to a manual rack or pay the mechanic $1500 to fix it ? Or do it myself ?
Old 01-14-2015, 02:50 PM
TECH Addict

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

$1500 to change a rack?????? Holy ****. Either find a different mechanic or do it yourself. All you need are basic hand tools and maybe a sawzall to get that driverside bolt out.

If you have basic mechanical ability your can do it in an afternoon and you'd need an alignment afterwards.
Old 01-14-2015, 05:26 PM
Staging Lane

I am a weekend mechanic . Are there any how to 's ?

Part of me just wants to continually top it off with fluid once a month
Old 01-14-2015, 08:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes, do a search for the swap. The trick is cutting the top of the bolt off so make sure you have a replacement to put the new rack back on. Also make sure that you get the V8 rack. The v6 is a different piece. I bought a used piece and sent it to be rebuilt at Turn One. You will need someone to help cutting the bolt. Hold it with vice grips while cutting with a saws all.
Old 01-14-2015, 08:45 PM
TECH Addict

honestly the passenger bolt and getting the lines off without stripping them are the hardest part. I didn't use a right-up, once the front wheels are off it's pretty clear what needs to be done.

Remove tie-rod ends from knuckle
Unbolt Intermediate shaft
Unbolt Power steering lines (use pan to catch fluid)
Undo the 2 bolts holding rack to k-member (cut out passenger side bolt using saw, be careful around brake line, I used a cut off wheel and went half thru the brake hard line which set me back a day since the parts stores where already closed)
Remove rack