General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Desparately need help

Old 08-03-2006, 10:48 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Desparately need help

I am new to LS1 Tech and new to ls1s in general. I recently bought a 98 Corvette and I am have some issues that not only have me baffled but everyone i have talked to. I hope some one can help me out.

When i bought the car the check in light was on. Preveious owner said it was because the cats were gutted with no sims. The car also seemed slightly sluggish but nothing i thought a good tune up couldn't cure. After purchasing I took it out to really see how it ran. It pulled good up till 5000 RPM then it started cutting in and out similar to a factory speed limiter and then it backfired extremely loud and shut off. It started right back up and ran fine afterwards as long as I wasn't in the high rpms. Eventually the car has gotten worse and now it starts cutting in and out any time i have the motor under a load. Even as low as 2000 RPM. It will also die every time i take a right turn with any speed and i have the throttle down now matter how slight. Every time the car cuts in and out and begins to backfire it shoots flames out of the exaust.

Things i have attempted thus far to resurrect the problem: