General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Do I need to change plugs/plug wires yet?

Old 07-28-2007, 01:10 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need to change plugs/plug wires yet?

I have searched and found some result on wires, but nothing really on plugs. My car has 93,9xx miles on it and is pretty much bone stock besides the mods in my sig. It seems as though it's running fine, but I have a couple of friends (f-body owners) that have mentioned better performance/gas mileage from changing plugs and plug wires. I know the GM stock pieces are supposed to be rated for high mileage, but I'm new to the f-body scene and I just wanted some opinions from some of you experienced guys out there that may have done it and experienced gains...or nothing lol. Also, some recommendations for some good wires and plugs for a DD w/ very minimal track use would be greatly appreciated. This is kind of off topic, but I deleted the egr completely yesterday just to remove some clutter from the engine, and I was curious about an easy way to clear the SES code from the computer. I already tried a reset, but it didn't work just as I expected it wouldn't. Thanks in advance guys!

Aaron
Old 07-28-2007, 01:12 AM
Staging Lane

BTW I have also done the complete Seafoam as stickied on this forum (2 cans + deep creep).
Old 07-28-2007, 01:20 AM
Launching!

plugs are rated for 100k miles on theese cars becuase they are a bitch to change, especialy number 8 however you are approaching that number, and im sure they aernt babbied miles Ide say go for it. as for wires ive heard great things about talylor- and msd makes them also i believe
Old 07-28-2007, 01:24 AM
Staging Lane