General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

PCV question

Old 07-20-2008, 04:03 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default PCV question

i posted this in the external engine forum also but havent got any help... i was changing out my plugs and wires today and noticed on the driver side of the engine at the rear of the valve cover there is a breather like plug in the valve cover with a hose connected to it that runs around the backside of the intake manifold... well this hose must have gotten brittle from age and rotted in half... im pretty new to these motors and i know they have been known for oil consumption through the pcv system... my question is, should i just leave this hose as is or replace it?... will there be any negative effects if i leave it disconnected?... the only thing i have noticed is that when slowly free revved it shudders just a little bit from about 2k or so and up... im unsure if this hose is the problem or if its just the engine torquing... when driving its not really noticeable... other than that i havent noticed any driveability issues but i just want to make sure... thanks for any help
Old 07-20-2008, 05:23 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by neutron82