Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Header install questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2008, 02:47 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Header install questions

I am getting some headers next week and am wondering if I can install them. I have never done it before, but I am competent and can follow directions. any pointers or any helpful advice?
Old 11-04-2008, 03:46 PM
TECH Resident

You can do it. I took my time and installed my QTPs over a weekend. FYI, QTPs are just about the longest of the longtubes, so I had to get the front end a good ways up in the air. Other than that, very straightforward and not too difficult. Just take your and don't rush it. FYI, you will want to take your coil packs off the valve covers, this will give you alot more room to work with up top, and go ahead take you plugs out as well.
Old 11-04-2008, 03:47 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

there are tons of write up out there choose the most detailed one you can.

tips

spray all bolts that need to be removed with wd40 or pb blaster 2 nites before you do it and continue until you do the install.

disconect you steering linkage

remove coil pacs/mounts

change motor mounts at the same time it will nvr get easier

make sure all tools are readily availible for install

beer!

take your time dont rush and relax this is suposed to b fun remeber that. and bring a friend so you arnt the only one losing blood lol
Old 11-04-2008, 03:49 PM
TECH Resident

Very good point on motor mounts transam98! I did not do that and regretted it later!
Old 11-04-2008, 04:01 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Might as well change plugs too! Definitely do it yourself, just take your time and you shouldn't have a problem.
Which longtubes did you buy?
Old 11-04-2008, 06:22 PM
TECH Resident