Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Header install help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2009, 09:55 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Header install help!

Im in the middle of my header install and got the passenger side header completed and everything put back together over there. But I cant get the driver side header slid up in place. Seems to be hitting the firewall and steering shaft thing. My instructions say that removing the motor mount bolts is the best way but I dont see how its possible to get the two bolts towards the front of the motor mount. Any tips and help would be appretiated, Im in my garage right now trying to figure it out. Sorry if the question is stupid in any parts, Im pretty new to wrench turning.
Old 10-19-2009, 10:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Are you tring to put the header in from the bottom? What size tubes are your headers? I was able to slide my 1 3/4 headers in through the bottom with out removing any thing. I would try taking the steering shaft off the rack first before you remove the moter mount.
Old 10-19-2009, 10:14 PM
12 Second Club

thanks for the answer, were going in from the bottom and not sure the size of the tube size, they are pacesetters. how do you remove the steering shaft exactly?
Old 10-19-2009, 10:19 PM
TECH Senior Member

Originally Posted by ZachJ03
thanks for the answer, were going in from the bottom and not sure the size of the tube size, they are pacesetters. how do you remove the steering shaft exactly?
There is a bolt that goes through the joint nuckle, pull that bolt out all the way, there is a slot cut in the splined shaft comming out of the rack. Spray it with some PB blaster and then pry it off the rack.
Old 10-19-2009, 10:27 PM
12 Second Club