Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Headers/Headers Install

Old 05-10-2010, 08:28 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Headers/Headers Install

Hey guys I just purchased a 99 SS and Im in the process of having the MOD BUG Im sure you all know how hard that bug bites. Anyway I just bought an LS6 intake from a guy off the forum and now Im wanting to get into some headers. Im very mechanically inclined however I have no experience with the LS1 header install. Can people tell me how hard it is, any tricks of the trade? It looks to me like every bolt on the factory manifolds is accessable from the top side which really surpised me. I have a 94 Z LT1 car and yeah getting to those bolts from the top side would be rotten but those have a different bend to them. Anyway Im trying to buy a used set of SLP headers which Ive heard is the best for these cars other than Kooks.

Can someone tell me the power gain I can expect with the LS6 intake, and the headers and down the road another tune? My car has been to the Wichita dyno so Id just have him do it again.

Any help and tips/hints would be appreciated. Oh and if someone says do a search, part of the reason I did this is to gain 50 posts so that I can start using the classified section, Id rather buy from guys on here than ebay. So please dont chime in and say USE SEARCH!

Thanks
Old 05-10-2010, 09:19 PM
On The Tree

The intake upgrade is good for 10-15hp and I would guess the exhaust to be around maybe 20?

My 01 already had that intake and stock it was running 14.2-14.4 right at 100 with the auto trans.

I just bought a full exhaust and just learned ill have to get a tune to delete the cats, fun stuff

Right now mines still pretty close to stock, got 9.5" zr1's and all of the induction peices with a ported throttle body but the cold air induction hasnt been put on the car.