Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MAF delete

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 12:26 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MAF delete

What are the benefits of removing the MAF unit? And what has to be done besides simply unplugging and removing it?
I am building a custom CAI in my 70 so I have plenty of options with plumbing. My concern is setting up the ECM correctly to run without it. Do I need to add in a intake air temp sensor somewhere? If so, where?
Thanks for any pointers.
Old 02-13-2012, 01:48 PM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no professional on this topic, but I believe it would require a SD (Speed Density) tune. From what I hear you would need to adjust the tune every so often depending on the weather conditions. Being you are in Seattle, the weather is always changing. You should call Tom @ Wong's Performance in Vancouver. He's not to far from you and he's a top notch tuner. He does all my tuning along with several others in the NW.
Old 02-13-2012, 02:00 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by *02WS6TURK*
I'm no professional on this topic, but I believe it would require a SD (Speed Density) tune. From what I hear you would need to adjust the tune every so often depending on the weather conditions. Being you are in Seattle, the weather is always changing. You should call Tom @ Wong's Performance in Vancouver. He's not to far from you and he's a top notch tuner. He does all my tuning along with several others in the NW.
Thanks for the quick reply and local connection. I'll give them a call.
Old 02-13-2012, 02:07 PM
12 Second Club

No problem. IMHO I think you would be better off keeping the MAF. Talk with Tom though and see what he thinks. There is always Ellis out your way to and he tunes/builds as well. Good luck!
Old 02-13-2012, 02:24 PM
Staging Lane

Originally Posted by *02WS6TURK*