Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where Should My Thought Process Be?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2012, 08:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where Should My Thought Process Be?

I appreciate everyone's time and thoughts regarding this topic. I'm diving in to my first "real" car project with equipment and ideas that I have no experience with.

My project is building a kit car that will use an LS1/T56 drive train.

After owning a Dodge SRT-4 I am VERY wary about engine mods of any type. I won't even go into that nightmare of a car. That being said, it is my understanding that there is probably no more worthy engine to work on than the LS1.

My plan for the drivetrain is to purchase an LS1/T56 dropout from one of our members once the kit is ready to receive the drivetrain. The kit will be driven on the streets and occasionally driven on a track.

Now, I don't need gobs of horsepower due to the low weight of the kit. I wanted to keep the engine close to stock but make smart improvements. Here is what I have come up with for "modifications" on an LS1 engine:

Accusump oil sustem
Oil cooler
Katech oil pump
Batwing oil pan

Perhaps a blueprint of the engine...It seems like if I'm going to invest in something like this I can spend the change to have this done. Am I nutty for thinking about that on a stock LS1?

ARP bottom end fasteners

Long tube headers made for dual side pipe applications

The air intake is in an open engine bay. I'm not sure where to go with something like this.