Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil and Spark Plug Change

Old 07-02-2004, 04:58 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Oil and Spark Plug Change

Okay first let me note that I worked as a mechanic years ago. Before Synthetics and before 93+ Camaros. Damn I am old..

Anyways, I am not sure if the previous owner used Synthetic or normal oil. I have heard that switching to Synth can cause oil leaks and such. Is there any way to tell what had been used? Or am I safe to use a quality standard oil, as long as I keep it changed regularly? If it is best to use a non-synth oil, what brand is advised?

Question 2: I would like to change the spark plugs at this time also. I've read about some people drilling a hole in the wheel well. I would rather not go this route. Are there any good tutorials, with pics perhaps, that detail changing the plugs. Additionally, what plugs would be recommended?

Back in my day K&N's were the thing to do as far as air filters go. I dont subscribe to the theory it would gain any hp, but do they not filter out contaminents better than conventional filters? Again, recommendations?

Any other PM items I missed please let me know. FYI it is a 2001 Z28 Automatic with 84k miles. The car seems to be well taken care of, but I want to establish a base to go from as far as PM'ing the vehicle.

Thanks..
Greg
Old 07-02-2004, 05:53 PM
TECH Fanatic

Most people here like NGK spark plugs. As far as changing them, the driver's side are a piece of cake, but the #8 on the passenger side is a different story. Your best bet is to remove the coil packs on that side or to take it out from underneath your car. About the air filter....most here will recommend a Fram filter.
Old 07-03-2004, 08:11 AM
On The Tree

Which NGK's? I have heard the TR55 coppers. I think the LS1 comes with plats which NGK makes also. What about the new Iridiums?