Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone actually ever screw up their MAF with K&N filter oil?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 07:29 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone actually ever screw up their MAF with K&N filter oil?

I know the K&N's can pass oil and whatnot, but has anyone actually had MAF problems due to a K&N? The reason I ask is my car already has one on there from the previous owner and I'm wondering if it's worth spending a few bucks to buy a paper filter. I'd also like to think the K&N is worth at least 1 HP, eh?
Old 03-07-2005, 07:58 PM
SRM
TECH Apprentice

I think "over oiling" is the problem. I've been running a holley power shot filter in my car for almost 5 years.
Old 03-07-2005, 08:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are concerned, the issue is not to switch to a paper filter, but to clean your MAF wires. Do a search, I think people use tuner cleaner or something similar from radio shack to clean the MAF wires.
Old 03-07-2005, 08:17 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I've been thinking of getting a K&N after I saw their in store demo/display. Very impressive at least at low flow rates. Its a good idea to clean the MAF occasionally despite what filter you run.
Old 03-07-2005, 08:25 PM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Martingale
I know the K&N's can pass oil and whatnot, but has anyone actually had MAF problems due to a K&N? The reason I ask is my car already has one on there from the previous owner and I'm wondering if it's worth spending a few bucks to buy a paper filter. I'd also like to think the K&N is worth at least 1 HP, eh?
I did, My car was screwed up for two weeks until I could figure out what the problem was. Once I figured out the problem, I just took some rubbing alchol & Q-tips Cleaned the wires real good Then reset the PCM & all was fine.
Old 03-07-2005, 08:27 PM