Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

question about flowmasters

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2006, 10:46 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question about flowmasters

ok ok ok, before all the flaming begins, i just have one simple question. i have used the search feature and only came up with 13 results (something fishy there...) none giving me the answer that im looking for. i want to know exactly the problem with the flowmaster 80 series muffler. i know that when anybody posts this they get a resounding no from all that reply. one guy said he lost low end torque, but thats all ive seen in the ay of reason to avoid it. heres my deal. i got a flowmaster 80 muffler with tips that i like for free. he witched to tsp true duals. (after i told him that i wanted a td setup on my bird, that bastard!!) my exhaust is stock for now, but i plan to go to a td setup in the future. why should i scrap this thing and not put it on my car? and please, i only need explanations not fights
Old 02-10-2006, 10:52 AM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

The flowmaster 80 series crossflow muffler does not flow well at all. If you were to put it on, I'd put a cutout in the i-pipe for sure. IMO, duals are the way to go (biased obviously ) but if you're getting it for free, I'd say go for it until you do a dual setup. You're not going to lose power from stock, but probably won't gain any either.
Old 02-10-2006, 10:55 AM
TECH Addict

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

I've never checked, but is the 80 series the muffler used on their off the shelf catback for the Fbody?

If so there is a simple reason people don't like it. And it's due to flow rate, if you check the sticky (MOD GUIDE) David Vizard explains that for a zero or low loss exhaust you need 2.2cfm per 1 hp flow rate.