Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any Hard Evidence on Value of Aftermarket Plug Wires

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2006, 03:06 PM
LS1 Tech Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Any Hard Evidence on Value of Aftermarket Plug Wires

I skeptical about something, and that is the value added by aftermarket plug wires. I'm an electronics engineer by day and a gearhead too. I can tell you that with short-run secondary ignition wires like the LS1 engines have, there is probably very little voltage drop or spark energy reduction at the plug with the factory wires. I like the appearance of aftermarket wires and most designs are technically superior, but do they really gain any appreciable amount of horsepower over the stock wires?

Steve
Old 03-24-2006, 04:08 PM
Launching!

The only advantage of the aftermarket plug wires is that you can relocate the coils. Other than that, there is really no advantage. Unless of course someone can give some ab dyno results.
Old 03-24-2006, 04:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by MSURacing
The only advantage of the aftermarket plug wires is that you can relocate the coils. Other than that, there is really no advantage. Unless of course someone can give some ab dyno results.
ditto, the factory ignition system is pretty darn good, including wires.
Old 03-24-2006, 04:55 PM
TECH Regular

i needed aftermarket wires to stop misfiring (before cam, manifold, tb)

I was told that if you have 4.10s, you need bigger wires. I was gonna get them anyway and was glad that it was a small problem. They don't add any significant hp, but supply the juice you need because of other mods. Change one thing and a list of things follow
Old 03-24-2006, 06:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

Could buying 4.10 gears cause the engine to rev faster, and in some way it needs a lower resistance wire?