Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help a Rookie get more HP on his Vette!

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2006, 10:57 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a Rookie get more HP on his Vette!

Hi! I recently purchased a 2000 vette. I'm looking to get some more HP without spending more than $2-3K right now. The car already has a Borla exhaust. I've been recommended that I start with an air induction system, throttle body, an X-pipe, and headers. I'm new to hot-rodding, but trying to learn.

As far as headers go...I was looking at a Random Technologies long tube header package from West Coast Corvette that includes high flow Cats and X-pipe. Are long tube headers not street legal in most states?? I'm getting different answers on this. I don't want to put something on the car that will lead to problems with inspections, emissions, etc.. I also heard that long tube headers will decrease my low end torque and should only be installed if I plan on supercharging the car. True??

I would also like the car to have a lower profile. The previous owner put lowering bolts on the rear end, but I think it looks awkward since the front wasn't changed. I was told to put some coil-over shocks which will be height adjustable. Any recommendations?
Old 05-01-2006, 11:06 AM
TECH Regular

As far as headers go I would check out texas-speed.com the tsp headers that they make seems like a great deal as far as corvettes go. you guys have some expensive parts. You might want to check out the corvette section.
Not true about the torque it will go up. And if you are goin N/A you will always want headers, just incase later you want a cam... which you will after you are done with the bolt ons.
I dont know nothing about the lowering stuff tho, I like the stock look, but better ask the corvette boys.
Old 05-01-2006, 01:14 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post