Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How restrictive is a CME exhaust on a camaro SS

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2006, 04:03 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How restrictive is a CME exhaust on a camaro SS

As the title states, i am going to be transplanting my motor in sig below and adding a magic stick 4 along with PRC ls6 heads and i absolutely love the CME exhaust that is on the SS my motor is going into. Looking at all the bends I cant help but think its extremely restrictive and seeing how i MAY be close to 450 rwhp will this exhaust hurt me? I know nothing about its flow rate as i am new to camaros. Thanks in advance for any input guys! PS: I am thinking of replacing the muffler with my hooker as i absolutley love its sound!

Last edited by DogNutz; 07-28-2006 at 04:08 PM.
Old 07-28-2006, 04:43 PM
TECH Fanatic

The SLP CME is just a DUAL/DUAL with different tips if I am not mistaken. The Dual/Dual flows well and is a pretty respectable exhaust. People who have headers and ORY use it too tone down their setup if they feel its too loud
Old 07-28-2006, 04:44 PM
TECH Addict

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

The stock CME flows not much better than a regular stock catback. All aftermarket ones will out perform it, included the Flowmaster.

Easy fix is get a cut out.

Either that or get a custom exhaust made for the car using you existing CME tips. The bends really won't hurt flow or HP. The restriction is mostly i the muffler. I'm not certain of the pipe diameter, but I think it's probably 2.5" like a regualr catback. On the setup you are proposing this will be a restriction. 3" tubing is the minimal to look at.