Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Functional Ram Air

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2006, 05:23 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Functional Ram Air

Most claim only 5-10 HP gain with functioanl rain air. I just bought a WS9 hood with the taller airbox. I have been modding my car for several years and have noticed a some big differences in changes I've made. Never have I EVER noticed such a tremendous power gain with a single modification.

Going from the free ram air mod (airbox bottom cut out) to functional ram air was like changing out my whole stock exhaust for headers, ORY, and a good catback. When I get to about 45 mph, it accelerates like it never has before.

This doesn't sound right from what everybody on here says. Has anyone experienced the same kind of gains going to a true functional ram aim induction system?
Old 12-27-2006, 05:56 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by JEB99TA
Most claim only 5-10 HP gain with functioanl rain air. I just bought a WS9 hood with the taller airbox. I have been modding my car for several years and have noticed a some big differences in changes I've made. Never have I EVER noticed such a tremendous power gain with a single modification.

Going from the free ram air mod (airbox bottom cut out) to functional ram air was like changing out my whole stock exhaust for headers, ORY, and a good catback. When I get to about 45 mph, it accelerates like it never has before.

This doesn't sound right from what everybody on here says. Has anyone experienced the same kind of gains going to a true functional ram aim induction system?

hmmm i jsut did the same thing. I just bought a WS6 hood and the WS6 Lower Air Box. and yea i will cut out all the plastic again on the lower air box. But what other free mod did you do?

got any pics?
Old 12-27-2006, 06:01 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts