Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Not enough back pressure?

Old 01-12-2007, 12:50 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not enough back pressure?

Hey guys, I'm sorry to say that I have a mere '99 v6 firebird. The two things i envy most about the Trans-Am (besides the v8) is the Ram-air hood, and dual exhaust pipes. I was gonna have duals put on (i know it wouldnt change much on a v6, but i like the way it looks), but my friend said that if i had that much exhaust removal on a v6, i would LOSE hp because there wasnt enough back pressure. Is he right? because Im relatively new to all this, and it sounds crazy enough to be true. Ty for anyone who helps.

Yours truely,
the Noob
Old 01-12-2007, 01:03 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Need for "back pressure" is a bunch of bullshit.

What you don't want is too little "exhaust gas velocity". You can and will lose power down low if your exhaust is too big.

If you keep the stock manifolds and cats you should be fine, though.

My opinion is to save your money until you can get a V8...
Old 01-12-2007, 01:52 PM
TECH Fanatic

Old 01-12-2007, 02:44 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by blkZ28spt

My opinion is to save your money until you can get a new car...

fixed
Old 01-12-2007, 09:54 PM
Teching In

ty guys thats all i needed. Prior to this thread, i had a cherry bomb glass pack put on and did notice some increase in speed, so im good to go for now. I cant wait to get a v8...Im thinkin bout a '01, burnt orange w/ black rims.
Old 01-12-2007, 09:56 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by blkZ28spt
Need for "back pressure" is a bunch of bullshit.

What you don't want is too little "exhaust gas velocity". You can and will lose power down low if your exhaust is too big.

If you keep the stock manifolds and cats you should be fine, though.

holy **** high 5.

people understand EGT but not EGV... you are correct 110%.