Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do It Yourself Heads/Cam Swap....

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 02:04 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Do It Yourself Heads/Cam Swap....

All,

For those of you have done the Heads/Cam Swap on a 01 or 02 LS1 how mechanically difficult is it? I have the money for heads/cam/pushrods/oil pump etc etc, long tubes, ORY and tune, I would need approximately around $2,000 more to have all of this installed.....don't get me wrong I am not a mechanic but I have done quite a bit of my own work mainly on my 97 cobra, I have done numerous trans swaps, and have had the top half of that motor taken apart a couple of times by myself, just wondering if there is anything more than patience and a friend to help that I need....also if anyone has any ideas for heads/cams I would appreciate it, I was going to go with the Livernois Stage 2 heads and Stage 2 Cam, I want to go over 400 rwhp and maintain good driveability, any input would be awesome!
Old 07-23-2008, 07:21 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Heard awesome things about Livernois, some have heard the opposite so take it all with a grain of salt. I was gonna have a shop put my cam in first time around but decided to just go for it. Had never cracked into the interior of any motor I had, but it wasn't nearly as bad as I would've thought. First time around just take your time, read up install info here on the board, and LS1howto.com will essentially be your bible through the swap. If the car is a DD give yourself twice as much time as you think it'll take. If it's not, then just take your time. Good luck.

-J
Old 07-23-2008, 08:23 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by 2002CamaroSS1982
All,