Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quick vavetrain question about the Torquer V3

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2008, 06:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Quick vavetrain question about the Torquer V3

I am looking at using this cam on my 00 WS6 m6 weekend warrior. I hear it is pretty hard on the vavletrain and I plan on keeping my stock heads. I know its suggested to get valvespings and hardened pushrods but should I also replace the rocker arms? What springs would be best for a budget build. I know I should get hardened pushrods, should I go with stock length? As far as rocker arms, what ones should I get? I hear that clearance is really close if you are running stock heads and that an aftermarket set of rocker arms can push you over the edge? Is tis true? I basically just need to know everything I need to do with the vavletrain to ensure it will hold up to the fairly large cam for a few years of driving. I am a complete newb at internal engine stuff, so help me understand this whole thing a little better.
Old 11-01-2008, 09:40 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

with the size of the Tq V3 it is a must you do the supporting valve train mods to ensure safety and reliability.This is what i got on my car with the Torquer v2

Prc dual springs rated to .660 lift
New locks and Retainers
Harden pushrods

As far as rocker arms stay with the stockers.The only time i have seen ppl change them out was when running smaller cams.I don't see the benefit in them on a cam like the torquer v3.With stock heads and a stock gasket i think a 7.4 push rod length would be sufficient.
Old 11-01-2008, 11:34 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Where is the best and cheapest place to buy my valvetrain parts?
Old 11-02-2008, 12:17 AM
10 Second Club