Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What machine work do I need done?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 01:06 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What machine work do I need done?

Ok, I"m building an LS1 for boost, Have already torn block 99% down.

What machine work will I need to get done.

hot tank the block to clean it obviously... magnaflux?? i know what this is on older engines, but an aluminum block isn't magnetic....

Sticking with stock cubes. the engine block has about 155,000 on it still ran good when it was disassembled.

What do i need to do to balance the crank? Do i balance pistons, etc seperately and just have the crank, fly wheel, and balanced. or does it all need to be done together.

The reason i aske these questions is I'm a newbie to the internal engine world, and the "experts" as they proclaim themselves have conflicting statements. everybody around here STILL seems afraid of LS1's.. "them damn computer engines"

I'd appreciate any help on this matter.

Thanks!
Steve
Old 05-04-2009, 01:12 PM
TECH Enthusiast

you cannot magnaflux non-ferrous (meaning no iron ie alum) materials. maybe the liners, but that is it. if its an iron block, its not an LS1. you should make sure its stripped all the way not just 99%, because every bit is going to be extra for the machine shop to do, and labor isnt cheap.
Old 05-04-2009, 01:27 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Y2K WS6
Ok, I"m building an LS1 for boost, Have already torn block 99% down.

What machine work will I need to get done.

hot tank the block to clean it obviously... magnaflux?? i know what this is on older engines, but an aluminum block isn't magnetic....

Sticking with stock cubes. the engine block has about 155,000 on it still ran good when it was disassembled.