Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

225K mile LS1

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2009, 01:24 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 225K mile LS1

Hello, I'm new to Camaro world and have reading around the boards for weeks. I have an ls1 that has 225K miles on it, no noises from the engine, runs good, oil pressure is 45psi at idle fully warmed up, just starting to consume oil. Do yall think the engine is worth rebuilding? or do you think i should just buy a used low mileage motor?
Thanks
Old 09-02-2009, 01:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Eblue4x4
Hello, I'm new to Camaro world and have reading around the boards for weeks. I have an ls1 that has 225K miles on it, no noises from the engine, runs good, oil pressure is 45psi at idle fully warmed up, just starting to consume oil. Do yall think the engine is worth rebuilding? or do you think i should just buy a used low mileage motor?
Thanks
Where is the oil getting consumed?? Rings? Valve seals?? PCV?? Is there visible blue smoke??

Its common for these engines to use oil through the PCV system, its not a very good design from the factory. Remove your air intake and see if the throttle body and the inside of the intake manifold are coated in oil - if so, you've found at least part of your oil consumption issue.
Old 09-02-2009, 03:24 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Check around on ebay or craigslist in your area for used shortblocks, (or longblocks if you want even more new stuff), if you find a good one that you like at a good price, go for it. It can range from a couple hundred bucks for a 5.3/5.7 up to a couple grand for a 6.0/6.2 liter if you want more cubes. It is pretty cheap and easy to swap out shortblocks if you get the same LS1 though.

You could always get new mains,studs, forged pistons and rods, clean up the block and heads and throw some nitrous at it for some extra fun!