Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Break in procedure/oil for new LS6 crate engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 10:50 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Break in procedure/oil for new LS6 crate engine

My new Ls6 crate engine is just about ready to go in my 98 WS6.

Which oil should I use? Was told to use either Joe Gibbs or Redline break in oil but the stuffs like $7.50 a quart whereas some regular Mobil oil is $12 for 5 qts. Will it really make a difference If I go with the expensive stuff and how long to change and how long until I use synthetic is good?

Baby it or drive it like I stole it first couple thousand miles...heard different things?
Old 12-02-2009, 11:22 AM
TECH Apprentice

For the oil, I would definantly use a high zinc type oil (break in oil), it helps the rings seal better. After the first 150 miles of babying the car I would do an oil change and put regular oil in it. If it were me personally and it being a daily driver I wouldnt be rough on it for at least the first 150 miles. If it was an all out drag car on the dyno then yeah, 3 runs on the dyno to break it in and your good to go.
Old 12-02-2009, 11:29 AM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The break in oil would be good I'm sure. If you don't use that, some reg old conventional Valvoline would be fine.

I would do neither of the break in methods you mentioned. Instead, I would do somewhere in between. Don't just beat the **** outta it, but get on it enough to get some cylinder pressure to seat the rings. Don't lug it around, but don't hold it at wot for a top speed run either.
Old 12-02-2009, 11:55 AM
TECH Apprentice

Ok then I will get some break in oil first and what about after initial startup, I was told to let it idle for about 45 minutes before I drive it giving it various loads and redlining it?
Old 12-02-2009, 05:24 PM
TECH Addict