Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why go forged?

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2010, 04:20 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Why go forged?

I'm looking at making a road racer/DD out of a Ls engine in a porsche 944. Due to the tranny I can't break 500rwhp. But I'd like it to turn up to 8,500rpm. So is there any point in going forged? As long as I replace the rod bolts I think I should be good? Would the stock pistons handle that kind of rpm and power? What do I have to loose by going this route?

Also, what would it take to get that kind of power....550hp from a ls1? I'm not stroking but I could bore it out to 3.905. What heads, cam, valvetrain, and I think I'll be running a ram air. This is not a drag car so I need this to be able to run daily and on the track.

Last edited by bp944; 10-18-2010 at 04:41 PM.
Old 10-18-2010, 04:40 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 212 Likes on 174 Posts

I have limited knowledge in this area and everything I know has been told to me, so take my advice with a grain of salt. For any car, but especially a road racing car, you want the lightest rotating assembly possible that will handle the power. I really dont see a point in going forged on a motor thats never gonna see boost or nitrous. Most of your build is going to be the valvetrain. Definately put hardened pushrods in it and upgrade the springs and lifters and such. The rest of your build is going to be not so much about peak hp but about powerband. A light bolt on n/a lsx motor in your porsche is going to make more than enough power to sling it around a road course at a VERY quick pace.
Old 10-18-2010, 04:48 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

^x2.... You can find very nice lightweight forged rotating assemblies also just in case you wanted to bump up the power and get a diff tranny if it's in ur budget of course but like stated above a ls in that light of a car will be awesome on a rr course given you have the right susp setup etc.
Old 10-18-2010, 05:03 PM