Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Have you heard of this? I need some help

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2010, 03:43 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Have you heard of this? I need some help

So a friend of mine picked up a broke (what we first thought was an LS2) LS6 for ultra cheap just to see what might be salvageable. So I tore it apart for him on Wednesday and we discovered something that had me a bit confused... he's not much of an LS guru, and I'm still learning as I go, but I figured someone here might be able to shed some light on this.

Now we don't know the history at all of the motor... not sure about miles or if it's been opened and rebuilt... don't know ****.

So I get it completely apart assuming I could use one of the rods out of it for my 1998 LS1 stockish rebuild. Well apparently the rods are very different. Based on the pictures I've found here at ls1tech, it appears the ones out of this broken motor are LS2 or LQ9 rods. They have the dimple, a gold bushing and a floating pin with the locks. So now we think "maybe it is an LS2." So we go ahead and place a micrometer on the pistons and low and behold the reading is right at 3.898. The pistons look bone stock... I looked over them and found the Mahle stamp on them with a few different numbers, and the skirts looked as if they had a bit of coating... is that normal? The tops were completely flat and had a tiny hole looking thing (obviously not a hole, but I think anyone that has seen a stock ls1 piston knows what I'm talking about). I found a small article that spoke about the LS6's coming with Mahle cast pistons, so I can only assume this is the case.