Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do these cylinders look?

Old 12-20-2010, 07:44 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default How do these cylinders look?

This is a 5.3L iron block motor I plan to turbo and swap into my Camaro. I'm by far not an expert on internal engine type stuff, but I thought maybe if I took some decent pictures of the cylinders someone with a trained eye may be able to say how "worn out" (or hopefully lack thereof) it looks. Maybe it's impossible to tell by pictures, I dunno

I was told it had ~100k on it.

Thanks!

Old 12-20-2010, 08:34 PM
Teching In

I'm not an expert either, but those cyl walls look really good. I just picked up a 90K mile 6.0 with a warantee that I just voided by pulling my heads, and it looks about like that. It had 170-180 psi on mine in all cylinders.
Have you cleaned up the pistons? If thats how they look without cleanup that's a really clean motor. Can you feel that vertical scrape in the bottom pic with a fingernail?
Old 12-20-2010, 08:38 PM
TECH Resident

No, I didn't clean up the pistons, but I'd have to assume someone prior to me did...I wouldn't expect them to be that carbon free with 100k miles. Haven't tried the scrape, I'll go check it out (also, this is only 3-4 of the cylinders, I didn't take a pic of them all due to being at TDC or dusty).
Old 12-21-2010, 11:45 AM
TECH Resident

no texture to that line that I could detect
Old 12-21-2010, 01:15 PM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

looks fresh as a dasiy to me.
Old 12-21-2010, 03:14 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Looks good, but good enough or not depends on your plans. If you just want to put heads on and run it, go ahead. But if you're considering going past 6000, then do the fingernail test at the top of every cylinder. If it catches , then the ring ridge is too much, and more rpm risks killing rings, pistons, and bearings.