Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LQ4 head and cam questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 10:33 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LQ4 head and cam questions

I recently purchased an LQ4 engine from a 2500 Silverado. I am also new to the LS world and this site. The engine will be used primarily for street use with the occasional track time. I don't think the L92 heads would be a good option, because I'm not interested in most of my power at the top end and lower C/R. I want to maximize torque at lower RPM. I'm looking for any input or suggestions.

The engine will be NA and I was thinking of using a 224R or 228R cam. Also, I'm thinking of using 243 heads to increase the C/R. I'm looking to get the C/R around 10.5:1 or close. What would the C/R be on unmilled 243's on an LQ4 with stock head gaskets? I'm figuring about 10.2:1. Would I also need to flycut the pistons or would they be ok?

Would the PRC Stage 2.5 LS6 heads or even the stage 1 heads be an option for what I'm looking for? I'm not saying money is no option, but if I can save to do it right the first time, I will be happier in the end.

Also, any idea what flywheel numbers might be?
Old 02-27-2011, 10:51 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

l92's that have been milled some will be just fine down low as long as you dont put too large of a cam in it.

I suggest you try doing some more reading and searching its going to be real hard to get all those questions answered in one post.
Old 02-28-2011, 06:35 AM
-Q-
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by 68vette
I recently purchased an LQ4 engine from a 2500 Silverado. I am also new to the LS world and this site. The engine will be used primarily for street use with the occasional track time. I don't think the L92 heads would be a good option, because I'm not interested in most of my power at the top end and lower C/R. I want to maximize torque at lower RPM. I'm looking for any input or suggestions.