Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tick/knock? not sure where to start

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 05:09 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tick/knock? not sure where to start

I have read multiple posts on here about lifters ticking... but im scared that it is not my case. i recently had it tuned. It is a 98 z28, about 135k on the clock. i heard this noise just yesterday after a few runs down the street. I tried to seafoam it afterwards and it didnt help... noticed it had bad oil pressure, around 18-20 at idle, which normally it was about 38-42. Any imput is appreciated, and if you need any more info ill be more than happy to provide it. i really dont have the money right now to fix it, but im hoping its something smaller such as a oil pump, or a lifter. This is my first time going into an engine and trying to diagnose anything internal. Im just trying to get some backround info before looking into what to do. I would take it to a shop but im currently in between jobs right now and short on cash. Thanks in advance.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBCcj...OFUKtI62A2rAY=
Old 03-10-2012, 05:20 PM
TECH Fanatic

Hard to tell on video but the low oil pressure would raise an eyebrow for me. I had a similar sound and did the lifters, cam, valve springs, pushrods, pump, chain, retainers, and other misc. stuff and the sound is still there. Just to give you a heads up, sometimes these engines make noise, but that oil pressure drop seems like something to pay attention to. If you hold it around 2000 rpm and maintain, how does it sound? Is it worse under load (putting around town) or what about acceleration vs. deceleration?
Old 03-10-2012, 05:51 PM
On The Tree