Sponsored by:

need help with gremlin

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2012, 05:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need help with gremlin

NOOB here... well kind of.
havent been on any LSx forums in years. was on ls2 several years ago and know i had account here but been too long so had to set up a new one. ive done several searches on here trying to find a lead to my problem but no luck.

car has 92k miles, all internal motor is stock just bolt ons... lid, ported TB, full exhaust, 3000 stall, 3.42 gears, most suspension done.

started having a bad vibration everal months after installing gears. prior to that was also putting in stall. gears also started grinding, so tore it apart, changed all gears and bearings and no vibration... until the next day. pretty sure the junky 4l60e is taking a crap along with the POS stall i got from TCI. pretty sure that will fix that problem. just havent gotten around to unbolting converter to motor to see...

in the mean time ive been getting a low RPM popping out of my exhaust, give it gas and it clears. not trowing any codes, the hotter the engine gets the worse the studder and popping gets. not getting any lifter tic, oil pressure is good, runs great except for idle-2000 rpm. (other than vibration, but again about 90% pos its transmission) any thoughts about this. again, havent been over to the shop to start testing, but kind of throwing me for a loop.

any and all replies are appreciated!
Old 07-05-2012, 08:04 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Man I was really hoping you were talking AMC Gremlin.

I would check plugs and wires first.
Old 07-06-2012, 08:43 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by therabidweasel
Man I was really hoping you were talking AMC Gremlin.

I would check plugs and wires first.