Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rebuild advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2012, 05:21 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuild advice

I had originally picked up a 5.3 engine to stuff in my Ranger. I was gonna do a basic maintenance rebuild, when i found a problem on tear down. I few cylinders have gotten water in them, rusting the bores. Now i don't want to just bore in and clean it up for a 5.3 piston, i figure if a bore is required, i should just step up to 346.

I'm not looking to build a race truck, weekend cruiser with an occasional trip to the track. I was looking at some Speed-Pro hyper flat top pistons 3.898 bore. Think these will be sufficient for my intended use? I was also going to go with the Scat 6.100 i-beam rod, mainly for the arp bolts, then have it all balanced. What are the thoughts of all of you? This is my first LS build, so i'm still learning.

I also am planning on running the 243 heads. What do you think the CR will be with these pistons? Use a stock replacement head gasket?
Old 12-04-2012, 06:41 AM
Staging Lane

My thinking would be that the CR would remain the same with flat top piston and 243 heads. But I can't say 100% on that. Also I'd throw a cam in there to if your going to use those heads I would think that you would be leaving horsepower on the table if your going to try and use a truck cam with those heads..I also get a at least a ls1 intake..Just my .02.. Hope this helps and good luck with it
Old 12-04-2012, 11:57 AM
TECH Apprentice