Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Big cam and 5.3 heads.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2013, 06:50 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Big cam and 5.3 heads.

Well guys I have a stock ls1 I'm basically reringing and adding arp rod bolts. Now the cam I picked up from a member on here is a 235/243 .647 .623 111+3. I know it's a little big but it's basically an In between for the ms3/4. Now I was thinking of porting some 5.3 heads and slapping them on to up the compression since this cam would love some compression as well as the ported heads. I'm open to flycutting the pistons, I've never done it before but I will.

I was originally planning on doing a 100-150 shot with my stock 241's and this cam. But I'd rather just do the heads and be done mabye add a 100 shot which I have read since flycutting makes the pistons weaker that its not too good an idea.

The build is a complete budget build so I can't really afford anyone's heads right now so that options out.

So now guys the question is would ported 5.3's and my cam with valve reliefs be worth it or should I just stick with my stock 241's and the cam?

I also thought about getting some 243's but I figured some ported 5.3's would be better since they up the compression and flow better.
Old 03-16-2013, 07:05 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

are you resizing the rods for use with the arp rod bolts ?what size valve mite you be considering for the 5.3 heads ?could you sink the valve seats deeper for a better VTP.
Old 03-16-2013, 08:28 PM
Launching!

Yes rods are being resized for Arp's and I was assuming that stock ls1 valves in the 5.3's would be better than the stock tiny valves they come with?
Old 03-16-2013, 09:09 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

figure out your valve clearance before you fly cut the pistons.what head gasket will you use ?maybe do a valve drop test with no springs on the head with the head bolted to the short block .
Old 03-16-2013, 09:18 PM
Launching!