Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time builder concerns with interference

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 08:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time builder concerns with interference

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to the LS1 scene, and we have finally purchased our first LS1 powered vehicle. We bought an LS1 powered RX-7 that has a hydro-locked motor. From the teardown we have determined that the pistons, connecting rods and crankshaft are all toast, but valvetrain is intact and healthy.

This may be a simple issue, but I'm a little concerned. We picked up this car to do our first motor build. We ordered an HP kit through flatlander racing and I simply asked for stock specs on all parts(or as close as possible). We were not so concerned with building power at this point, as with making sure the parts in the rotating assembly are high quality in case we do add power in the future.

Well, the pistons flat lander shipped are *not* stock spec, and now I'm concerned we may have a problem with deck height that will result in interference with the head and valves. I did some research and found the equation to determine connecting rod length we can use at the following sites:
https://ls1tech.com/forums/generatio...lanation.html]
https://ls1tech.com/forums/generatio...k-height.html]