Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

confused newb

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2013, 11:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default confused newb

Hey all, I am currently building my first LSx. It's a used 2004 GTO LS1 block to swap into my 1990 Mazda Miata track car.

I am a bit confused on something and it could just be that I am doing my math incorrectly as I am new to internal engine work.

I recently purchased the Eagle Specialty Part #12804.

This is a 383ci stroker kit for the ls1 with the following specs

383 Cubic Inch
3.905 Bore
Arais -3.1 Flat Tops
Pin Height 1.050
Crank Stroke 4.00
Rod Length 6.2
Deck Height 9.24 (as far as I know)
Head Gasket .051 GM Part #

I have not decided on heads yet but I will probably pick up a set of TSP 6.0L heads with 68CC chambers to keep the compression under 11:1. I want to run pump gas as race gas is not available here.

After using the calculator on Eagle's website this setup puts the piston .01" above the deck. It seems that I have a problem, unless I am mistaken of course.

This also puts my compression ratio near 11:1.

If It helps I already have a cam also,

LS7 lifters
TSP Tsunami 111LSA 235/240 .648"/.609"

Any help is appreciated
Old 10-22-2013, 06:49 AM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Ls pistons are usually "out of the hole" meaning they are above the cylinder deck, but I'm unfamiliar with those pistons so I'm not sure. I've never been able to calculate compression until at least building short block and measuring the piston to deck clearance...
Old 10-22-2013, 07:46 AM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

That's weird, 6.125" is usually the norm for the rod length. I suppose its fine though.