Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bbreaults Official LQ4 240sx Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2014, 09:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bbreaults Official LQ4 240sx Build Thread

Alrighty. So this is my official build thread. Since there arent any real specific forums for this topic Ive decided to post here sine many of my questions in the future will be involved with internals.

While I am not new to engines and cars, I am fairly new to the LS series engines. I have done extensive research and still have a lot to do but thanks to the community here I have faith Ill be able to find answers to my questions.

This is my second 240sx. My first was a 91 (s13) that I put a lot of work into and I had the intentions of putting an ls1 in it but then I joined the Air Force and I ended up selling it. Once I got to my first station I bought another 240sx. This one is a 96 (s14) 240sx and it came with an SR20DET. While I loved that engine and the boost, I ended up spinning a No. 2 rod bearing and I was going to rebuild it but it was going to cost about 6k and even then it still wasnt going to be imperviosus to spinning bearings again (of which they are noted for). So I made an executive decision to finally do what I really wanted, an ls1 swap. This would give me all the power and torque I wanted on tap, it would be super reliable and easy to get parts for (a lot easier than sr20s). So my mind was made.