Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam Swap Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2004, 08:35 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Swap Question

I'm thinking of doing my own cam swap, but kinda iffy if i should or not. The furthest ive gotten into my motor was checking the push rods, and once swapped out my radiator. Other than that i have no other experience. Do you guys think i could do it?

I take it i dont have to drain the oil out of the motor for just a cam swap? But i do have to drain the coolant? Once the cam is installed how many miles do i need to drive around before i need to chance out the oil?

About the special tools that hold up the lifters before i pull out the cam. Do i need the special rods or could i pick up something similar at home depot? Can i use a certain guage wire? Any advice?

Also, before im about to descompress the springs. Whats the best way to keep the lifters up? Top dead method? Is this easy to tell if the piston is at the TOP top most part?

Do i need gaskets or anything that i maybe missing?

I've read through the ls1how too but i still had a few questions that i wanted to make sure before i even consider any further. I want to do it but i dunno i have some doubts about doing this. because of the lifters dropping in.

I have 20k on my car right now. Do i need to swap out my timing chain or oil pump? The camaro is a 2002

Last edited by Camaroguy; 06-20-2004 at 08:47 PM.
Old 06-20-2004, 08:42 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

if youve gotten to the pushrods & taken out the radiator your 1/2 way done really...its a matter of taking off springs, water pump, pulley, front cover to swap out cam & springs...i say go for it. TDC if you dont have an air compressor or the hookups for it.
Old 06-20-2004, 08:54 PM
On The Tree

For the lifters, use 5/16 rod. Smooth one end with a grinder, and bend the other end at 17.5 inches for a handle. I have tons of pix from my install if you want them.