Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam question??

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2004, 12:02 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam question??

I have an internally stock car and want to change that. I want my car to still be my daily driver, but have some power for my trips to the 1/4. I'm pretty much an amatuer when it comes to the internal part of an engine, so I would like to know what I might need to install a new cam (lifters,rods,rockers,springs???). I don't mind losing a little gas mileage to gain performance...so any help provided will be greatly appreciated.

Gabe
Old 07-12-2004, 01:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Springs are an absolute must. Rods are nice, retainers are nice, and rockers aren't needed. Never done one myself, but I've been hastling these guys w/ the same questions for 2 months.
Old 07-12-2004, 02:24 PM
TECH Veteran

#1 question if do you have LS1Edit or access to someone who can tune your car after you get the cam? Your new cam WILL NOT run right without a retune. If it "runs" (drives) you will still be leaving power and fuel economy on the table.

When you say daily driver, how much can you deal with?

For large majority of people, the 220 or 224 range cams are about the most they would be happy with on a daily driver (I had a TR224 that I really liked). Others want no idle problems so they go <220 while others want more power/don't mind idle problems so they can go into the 230s.

210-219 duration cams = figure stock-ish like idle (little to no lope)
220-228 duration cams = mild lope
229-236 duration cams = heavy/aggressive lope
237+ duration cams = don't even think about it

The other thing is A4s like higher LSA (114 vs. 112) due to idle quality. M6 cars idle at a faster RPM (unless you have a higher stall) so that helps. We can also "catch" our engines if they start to die (quick slap of the throttle when sitting at a light). The 114 will make less peak power (dyno number) but will make more power under the curve.