Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

yet another cam decision thread

Old 10-06-2004, 07:56 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question yet another cam decision thread

I've finally broken the 36,000 mile marker and since my warrenty is now "officially" gone it's time to play the cam swap game. I've been researching cams for quite a few months. But just recently I got a nitrous kit(venom vcn-2000 kit) for my car, I had never considered nitrous before but it was a gift and who am I to turn down a gift like this. I had planned on the using the Stealth II from MTI but that is a reverse split cam and from what I've read that is not going to do me any good on the gas. So now I've been looking into some nitrous friendly cams.
and now the dilemma...
I daily drive my car about 60 miles everyday (M-F) in stop and go rush hour traffic. I need a cam that is not going to be surging on me everytime I stop, I also need it to be AC friendly. I am planning on having it re-tuned with edit so tuning is not going to be an issue. Also I'm not going to be using the gas everyday (obviously) so I want the cam to be good NA too. I have a M6 with the stock rear end so I need it to have good low end torque. I'd also like to see close to 400rwhp NA. I have come up with possibly the FM7, what is the consensus on this cam fitting the bill for what I'm looking for. I've also thought about the FM5 and the FM6 all of the above cams on a 114 or maybe a custom grind on a 115 or 116?
Also I'm not stuck on the FMS cams it just seems that they are a board favorite and the customer service seems to be top notch. If anyone else can recommend another grind to consider that may match what I'm looking for please feel free to post it up.
Thanks guys
Old 10-06-2004, 08:00 PM
Teching In