Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions about oil pump install

Old 10-21-2004, 01:11 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Questions about oil pump install

What else do I need besides the pump, a new crank pulley bolt, and the front timing cover seal. Do I need a pan gasket? What about an o-ring is it safe to reuse or should I get a new one? Will any o-ring work or is there something special about this one? Also I am reading the install off of ls1howto.com and I am a little confused by the pulling the crank pulley off, I have never used a crank pulley puller before, it is probablly something that I need to see to understand but could someone explain it. thanks
Old 10-21-2004, 01:48 PM
TECH Fanatic

I would recommend getting a new oring from the dealer. It's not worth the risk of having to tear it all down again to replace the oring. You don't need a new pan gasket. Use some rtv gasket maker along the bottom of the front cover when you put it back on to ensure that it doesn't leak.
Old 04-28-2014, 02:58 PM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I found the thread after searching to answer my question about reusing the oil pan gasket. so thank you

And to help you out when you buy a new oil pump they tend to come with two o-rings. I got a slp pump that had a black o-ring used on smooth pick up tubes like my 00 ls1 has, and a thicker green one for use on flanged oil pickup tube styles.
Further reinstalling the pickup tube to the pump I used a pair of needlenose pliers on the bolts shank to grab the first thread, and an open ended 10mm wrench to tighten the pickup tube back on the pump. I stuffed a rag in the oil pan to catch the bolt, worked like a charm as I dropped the bolt 3 times into the rag. its quite tricky to reinstall.