Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Would you do this?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 03:59 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Would you do this?

I got an offer to buy a set stage 3 5.3 heads and a sleeved block for a quiet nice price(less than the ported heads cost new). The block DOES have some leakage issues but the shop where the stuff is told me that it could be sent off and fixed for 450 bucks. I believe it was a dry sleeved block,maybe, but I can't really say until I talk to the guy that owns the stuff again. I'm kinda new to the whole block sleeving thing. BUT this is an offer that I hate to miss out on. I won't be building a big CI stroker engine, just a big bore and aftermarket rods, with the heads and cam, and probably a 100 shot or about 8psi of boost down the road. I wouldn't think that I would have anymore issues being that I am not gunna be trying to make the power that the engine was previously making(550 at the rear wheels).

Would you guys do it?

Josh S.
Old 12-30-2004, 04:27 PM
TECH Apprentice

If you plan on keeping the 5.3 heads I'd just go with the larger cubes/compression and nitrous. I may be mistaken, but from what I've read it would be a pain in the *** to try and drop your compression enough with the 5.3 heads for a blower or turbo. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. I'd just take the block and use it as a core for one of the shortblocks that most of the sponsors sell if you're not building the motor yourself. If you are, get that block fixed and build yourself a nasty motor!
Old 12-30-2004, 05:11 PM
TECH Addict