Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Comp vs. FMS

Old 04-01-2005, 08:30 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Comp vs. FMS

A cam swap is in the very near future for me. I already have the Futral chromemoly pushrods, LS2 timing chain, ASP Pulley. Also, a PRC dual spring kit on the way. I am having to buy one piece at a time since I am a poor college student. I was all ready to buy an F-13 on an 114lsa from FMS (since they were on sale at that time). But something happened and I missed the sale….

I have a buddy that works at Comp Cams and I know I can get a custom grind cam for $305 (no shipping since I can go and pick it up). That would have me saving about $100 as compared to FMS.

My question is if I took the same specs of the F-13 and had a Comp cam grinded out, how much different would it be? Or could I have them fix me up a comparable cam, since the F-13 is on cam-motion lobes and the Comp (XE or XE-R??) are a little different. Is it worth $100 to go with FMS?

What do you guys think? How much of a difference? That $100 could go a long way in buying misc. stuff (i.e. Pen magnets, gaskets, etc.) I know that FMS had awesome customer service and stuff, but Comp is right here in Memphis and I am pretty sure my buddy will take care of me///

BTW: what Comp lobes are the closest to the cam motion lobes?

Sorry for the long post, but I want to make the right decision!!!

Thanks for your replies in advance!
Old 04-01-2005, 08:39 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by SteelBallz
A cam swap is in the very near future for me. I already have the Futral chromemoly pushrods, LS2 timing chain, ASP Pulley. Also, a PRC dual spring kit on the way. I am having to buy one piece at a time since I am a poor college student. I was all ready to buy an F-13 on an 114lsa from FMS (since they were on sale at that time). But something happened and I missed the sale….