Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil seeping from bellhousing...

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2005, 07:28 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Oil seeping from bellhousing...

Okay, well I fired up my LS1 today, and I am seeping a good amount of oil out of the bellhousing. I'm new to LS1s, but from my experience that's a rear main seal.

The car was hit in the front, my theory is that it knocked the crank a bit, and messed up my rear seals (or bearings... ).

My plan is to pull the motor (which really sucks, cause I just got it fired tonight), pull the tranny off and yank the covers and pan to see what's going on. Then, replace the bearings (main and rod) as I see no way to avoid it once I get in there. Is there an actual seal that could be bad as opposed to a bearing? The engine seems to run fine, but I currently have no way to check oil pressure, beyond I know that there is oil up top, so it does have pressure. All in all a depressing find, but it could have been worse. I think that my block and internals are probably fine, minus bearings (which may be okay as well). It runs fine, and has good compression (and runs smoothly at that).

I figure that since the engine is coming apart, I have to put a cam in. LOL, there's really no excuse to take it apart and not put a cam in...

Hell, I guess I have to port my heads too...

...this is getting expensive...

-Cliff's Notes-

My LS1 is seeping oil at the back. Could this just be a seal and not need new bearings? Car was hit in the front, but runs fine and has oil pressure.

Advice? (Be gentle, my wallet hurts already)
Old 06-01-2005, 09:06 PM
Super Moderator

Received 32 Likes on 16 Posts

Can't follow your theory really. More likely the rear seal is damaged or your clutch master is leaking (if you have a manual). Bearings would not cause a leak.
Old 06-01-2005, 09:14 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by Reckless