Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Couple questions about new motor...

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2005, 03:59 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Couple questions about new motor...

I am a noob to this, but am trying to learn, so please be gentle.

I have done a lot of reading and searching lately on these things, and still have questions. New block is an LQ9 402.

1. Rear cover. What do I need under it. I have ordered the main seal, and the cover gasket. Are there any other bolts, plugs, etc. back there???

2. What order do the oilpan, front cover, and rear cover go on best??

3. I removed AC. There are two lines that come out of the waterpump. Do I need to keep those in the car? I would like to remove the evaporator, but those concern me.

4. I remember there being a couple 'plug' like looking things in the side of the block when I pulled the stock motor. Yellowish in color. New block has the holes, but I don't have the plugs. What are these called?? And how many of them are there??
Appears to be one at the front of the motor near the alternator bracket, and one next to each motor mount.

5. Anything anyone can give me to help. I haven't been able to find much in the way of pics. Assembling and such.

Thanks in advance!!!!
Old 08-29-2005, 06:46 PM
11 Second Club

HELP ME!!!! PLEASE!!!

I am getting so close to finishing up, and I want to make sure I don't screw something up.
Also....what did some of you guys use to block off the hose connections from the A/C to the evaporator?
Old 08-29-2005, 08:04 PM
Staging Lane

1. You may also need a rear oil galley plug (looks like a dumbell). I don't have the PN, but you can do a quick search and find it.