Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to make 400rwhp daily driver

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2005, 06:21 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Looking to make 400rwhp daily driver

Need advice on a cam to get that makes good power but not too pricey and too not much of a gas hog...I WILL have an LS6 intake manifold and a full exhaust (headers, high-flow cats, x-pipe, high-flow mufflers) installed before I install the cam. What else would I need to purchase along with the cam, or could I just reuse my old lifters, rockers, etc.? Probably not recomended but I am a novice @ this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-16-2005, 06:36 PM
11 Second Club

Originally Posted by griff71177
Need advice on a cam to get that makes good power but not too pricey and too not much of a gas hog...I WILL have an LS6 intake manifold and a full exhaust (headers, high-flow cats, x-pipe, high-flow mufflers) installed before I install the cam. What else would I need to purchase along with the cam, or could I just reuse my old lifters, rockers, etc.? Probably not recomended but I am a novice @ this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Invest in some good hardened pushrods. Stock lifters are okay to re-use but my suggestion would be to replace them if your changing the cam. Comp 850-16 or (875-16 for higher lift cams) is a good choice. Stock rockers are good either way unless going extreme with the build, some people like to change them out for aftermarket but it isnt necessary. You might want to check into a good set of heads also. Do a search through the forums and check the sponser sites for cam info. Be prepared to spend some money if you want 400RWHP. Good luck with the build!!

Last edited by SS1875; 09-16-2005 at 06:46 PM.
Old 09-16-2005, 07:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast