Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam redline questions???

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2005, 09:53 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Cam redline questions???

Ok im kinda new to internals as far as my LS1 goes. I was going to get a cam and was thinking either Thunder racings cheatr cam or a GM hotcam. My question is that both cams say they build power until around 6500 RPMS. Besides removing the rev limiter are there any other internals that I will need to worry about while reving that high. I know that the pushrods and springs should be changed with the cam but is there anything else?
Thank you, Craig
Old 09-21-2005, 10:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast

You might want to adjust the rev limiter, rather than remove it.

I don't think it's needed for the cams your thinking about, but for higher max rpm cams, a lot of guys recommend replacing the stock connecting rod bolts, which is more work but good insurance.

I try to get anything done that I'll need to do at some point, and is exposed on a project. For example, I replaced the plugs and wires when I put the headers on, because it was piece of cake to do then, and is a royal pain in the *** to do by itself. It depends a little on your mileage, but I'd think about replacing the timing chain, and/or oil pump, and/or underdrive pulley while you have the front of the engine off for the cam swap.
Old 09-21-2005, 10:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

If you have a 98-00 its a good idea to change the oil pump since there have been some failures before w/ those years. For any cam its a good idea to put in hardened pushrods, timing chain, and obviously the valvesprings.
Old 09-22-2005, 09:21 AM
TECH Addict

I guess what I was really wondering is if the stock heads flow well enough to provide enough air for that high revolutions?
Old 09-22-2005, 02:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Starz T/A 17
I guess what I was really wondering is if the stock heads flow well enough to provide enough air for that high revolutions?