Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Interested in doing a head/cam swap

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2006, 11:50 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Interested in doing a head/cam swap

All of this talk about heads this and cam that made me think that someone has to install some of these parts once they get purchased. If anyone is interested or freaking out about doing thier own head cam swap, and are thinking of paying a shop... consider doing it yourself.

I am a college student with little time to do such things but I set last weekend aside to perform my head cam swap.

I used my buddies shop and he helped me a little with some of the two person jobs. Started on it at 7pm fri night.. turned the key at 9 the next morning. Primed the oil system and it started flawlessly.

Total time for wrenching was 14 hours, granted there is alot of tuning to be done but if you are mechanically inclined at all this job is a piece of cake. The money you will save by doing it yourself can buy a ton of other mods.

Only things you really need to pay attention to is making sure you have an endless supply of your favorite beverage, plently of brake and parts cleaner and rags, and the ability to line up dots.

Hope some of this instills confidence!!
Old 01-31-2006, 10:20 AM
TECH Fanatic

Awesome, you got your H/C in. Can't wait to hear the beast
Old 01-31-2006, 10:33 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

..just referring to a cam swap:

it's almost as cost efficient to pay someone to do it when you weigh what it cost to get the tools required to do the job easily and correctly vs labor.

i've priced valvespring compressers, dowel rods, longer crank bolt, etc etc and it's close to what someone else would charge me. close enough that i can't merit NOT letting someone else do it. i'm not afraid of the job, as i have done many cam installs and i am very mechanically inclined. sometimes you have to let logic prevail. doing the head swap will bring my pride back up.