Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

GEN III Max bore/stroke and other related ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 06:44 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GEN III Max bore/stroke and other related ?'s

I've been looking and looking and looking and I can't seem to find what the max bore and stroke is for my 98 LS1. I know the 97-98 has a 3.9 bore already and can only be bored maybe .004 over? pretty much a honing job. But what is the maximum stroke for this block without taking it somewhere to get the block clearanced for the crank and rods?

I'm still new to this but need some advice on which way to go with it. I want a stronger block like the LS6, but kind of want to bore it to a 4.000. Should I just stick with the LS6 and 3.910 or go with the 6.0 iron block and have at it? I'm sure I would enjoy the 383 but I want to go for a 402. I'm looking for torque and horsepower in the 550-650 range and know I might have to supercharge it for that power, but if I can get it with n/a I want to go that route instead. I also want to stick with the GEN III base engine so I can keep the modification to the rest of the car to a minimum besides beefing it up. like engine mounts, tranny, wiring harness, computer, intake locations, radiator location, etc. and the few pieces I already have.

What kind of prices am I looking at for a cheap build of my 98 block for now? As in cheap I'm thinking offset grinding the crank as much as I can and getting a decent set of rods and pistons for a moderate compression and performance.

I already have figures for everything else, and probably won't go cheap on those pieces (heads, timing set, oil pump, valvetrain, etc. etc. etc.) But I'm trying to figure out what I want to do right now with my engine so I can start planning on the rest of the combo. Then hopefully get a good ensemble that would work well with the 402 when I get there instead of swapping everything out right away.