Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overall Thoughts on TR 230/224 111

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2006, 11:53 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overall Thoughts on TR 230/224 111

Hello, I am new to the internal section. My car and mods are in my sig. I am really thinking of going with the TR 230/224 111 for my car. Can I get some opinions on this cam. Things like SOTP dyno, sound (sound is a big one), agressiveness all around. What to expect from the dyno. Do I need to put new gears in it. I have stock 3.42's right now. I have been told that it wont be as fun without gears (4.10's) Thanks in advace.
Old 07-24-2006, 12:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

im leaning towards mti x1. pretty much just like the tr 230/224 cam. i hear nothing but good things from the reverse split cam. the only thing i think is that you need a really good flowing exhaust setup. but overall, i hear from lots of people the reverse split cam are great NA cams. i think they are under rated cams also.
Old 07-24-2006, 12:19 PM
11Second Club

When I was looking around for my cam, I was very surprised by the number of 400HP+ results I was seeing from that cam. I didn't get it, personally, but I often wondered if I should have. Based on what I've read, I'd say it's a darn good choice.

Oh, and regarding the sound, just about any cam of moderate size can be made to sound sick. It just depends on the tune. Changing the idle RPM has a drastic effect, especially.
Old 07-24-2006, 12:20 PM

Beasst8,

I highly recommend this camshaft. It's one of my favorites for the LS1. It has enough overlap to make the car sound mean and to make good power, but not so much as to kill economy and make this a "bad" daily driver cam. The overlap that it does have is biased to the intake and this allows the power to not fall off at high RPM. The lift isn't as aggressive as some of the other cams out there, but on the street this will mean longer valvespring life.