Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OLD XE vs XE-R question....

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 08:54 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Question OLD XE vs XE-R question....

Putting cam in friends C5, engine noise is a concern…
If all other variables are the same (PR length, spring-type, head-milling, etc…) XE lobes make less valve-train-noise than XE-R, right??? Say something like 220/224 XE vs. 220/224 XE-R…

I have never used a XE based cam so I have no experience in that area...
Old 08-22-2006, 09:41 AM
TECH Addict

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

I'd like to know as well...
Old 08-22-2006, 09:53 AM
formerly silverbrick (changed 02/17/2013)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

XER lobes, im sure you know, include faster ramping rate. it will pop up the rocker and snap it down. IMO if you had the exact pushrod length necessary, decent springs and lifters that are in good shape the noise level should be about the same but as with any aftermarket valvetrain noise will be there...
Old 08-22-2006, 10:07 AM
11 Second Club

i have the XER 224/224 and it can sound like a sewing maching at certain RPM's basically with my exhaust you hear the car and vavles closing and opening, but cats or any muffler would help that out a bunch
Old 08-22-2006, 10:27 AM
Staging Lane

XE-R lobes do have a very fast ramp and have more lift. They are an aggressive cam
XtremRPM cams
Comp has two types, XtremRPM, and XtremRPM high lift
Now Comp has LSK lobes and are more aggressive than XE-R
Since XtremRPM cams high lift are not really high lift at all when compared with XE-R
and LSK they can use 26915 springs but I would still use the 26918 springs
All other variables are the same (PR length, head milling, spring type etc.)
I would think that they make less noise
Old 08-22-2006, 11:53 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by Black Z28 M6
XE-R lobes do have a very fast ramp and have more lift. They are an aggressive cam
XtremRPM cams
Comp has two types, XtremRPM, and XtremRPM high lift