Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Good Cam For SetUp

Old 09-11-2006, 02:30 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good Cam For SetUp

I just ordered an LS6 Intake Manifold and will be p&p my throttle body very soon. I was looking into getting a ms4 for my setup. Just wondering if this is a good cam for my setup or not. I was looking at getting the tsp camshaft, prc spring kit & pushrod package. Would this be everything for a cam install besides a good tune? Sorry for the noob ? but Im new to the cam world. Thanks
Old 09-11-2006, 02:53 AM
TECH Apprentice

I'm not the most knowledgeable guy around here but I'll give it a shot. The PRC springs and chromoly rods will be fine but you will need new lifters due to the shear size of the cam. I would also reccomend a heavy duty timing chain set and a blueprinted or at least shimmed oil pump. Everything I have heard about the MS4 tells me it's a good cam but, to get the full power that it has to offer your gonna need a good set of heads to match it. Do some research around the sight you'll find all the info you need.
Old 09-11-2006, 02:54 AM
ЯєŧąяĐ Єl¡m¡иąŧøя ™

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You might want to check out the cam guide for a better grasp on cams. What are you going to be primarily doing with the car? I hope you know that the MS4 is non-smog compliant. Typically all you need is cam/springs/pushrods and a new crankbolt. You plan on doing the install yourself?
Old 09-11-2006, 02:57 AM
ЯєŧąяĐ Єl¡m¡иąŧøя ™

Originally Posted by Rothman