Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

H/C install underway.

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 12:32 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H/C install underway.

Well i started taking everything apart tonight. I only worked for an hour and half and this is my first time. I got the tb, water pump, lower air box, lid, coil packs, y pipe, antifreeze drained, metal air tubes removed. I started taking the bolts out of the powersteering and man that last bolt is a bitch. It looks like it will not come out all the way because of the powersteering resavore. It started to get late so i called it quits for the night. Tomorrow i will take headers off, powersteering, radiator removed (would have done it tonight but im working by my self) Anyone have any advice on how to get the radiator out without ******* it up? And hope to have the heads off tomorrow as well. So what do you guys think, not bad for start?
Old 11-09-2006, 07:39 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

go slow, pull the p/s pump toward the front of the car while you back out that last bolt
Old 11-09-2006, 07:41 AM
12 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You could always just pull the PS pulley off with a puller, pretty readily available at auto parts places.
Old 11-09-2006, 03:15 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Thanks, any advice or tips on how to get the dam radiator out? I tried today and its a pain in the *** by my self. I have to wait until i can find someone to help me. I think with someone else to hold the other side it will come out. I hope to have the intake, radiator, and heads out by tonight. Wish me luck
Old 11-09-2006, 05:05 PM
TECH Enthusiast

http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=2

Go to H/C swap instructions. That's just in case you haven't seen that write-up.

Radiator is a bit tricky. A second pair of hands would be nice...
Old 11-09-2006, 05:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by AdamSS
http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=2